Send link
06.09.2018
Burger

Burger


DATA & FACTS

Sector:
Nutrition

Renewable resource:
Insects


Participating companies:
Bugfoundation GmbH


Bioeconomy factor:
Alternative protein suppliers, saving of resources

Status:
on the market

What is inside?
Burger aus Insektenmehl | Bugfoundation
Copyright: 
Bugfoundation | © CreativeNature_nl/istockphoto.com
Würmer

It is well known that insects are rich in protein and vitamins. Compared to conventional livestock farming, rearing insects is much more environmentally friendly and they also have a lot to offer in terms of taste.

Containing protein, vitamins and minerals

The world population is growing and resources are becoming scarce. An important contribution to food security could be breeding insects instead of cattle, pigs and poultry. Insects are rich in protein, vitamins, minerals and unsaturated fatty acids. Insects also consume significantly less resources than their four-legged counterparts. According to the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), producing one pound of beef consumes up to twelve times more feed than producing the equivalent amount of insects. Both water and land consumption are thus significantly reduced and CO2 emissions are also reduced a hundredfold.

Healthy, tasty and sustainable

These considerations prompted the founders of the start-up Bugfoundation to develop food from insects. Their burger should not only be healthy and tasty, but also suitable for mass consumption. Together with the German Institute of Nutrition, Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences and other partners, work was carried out on the optimal texture, smell and appearance. The result is the Bux Burger - 43% of which consists of Buffalo worms (alphitobius diaperinus) and various vegetarian ingredients. In order to relieve consumers of their fear of eating the extremely sustainable and healthy insects, communication and marketing strategy were also refined.

Ready for the market

In Belgium and the Netherlands, burgers have been available since 2015. According to an EU regulation, insects have been defined as food since 1 January 2018. Since then, burgers have also been on the refrigerated shelves of German food markets.

Back to top of page

Newsletter

Link versenden
Burger

Burger


DATEN & FAKTEN

Branche:
Ernährung

Nachwachsender Rohstoff:
Insekten (Buffalo-Würmer)

Beteiligte Unternehmen:
Bugfoundation GmbH

Bioökonomie-Faktor:
alternative Proteinlieferanten
Einsparung von Ressourcen

Status:
auf dem Markt (in Belgien und den Niederlanden)

Was steckt drin?
Burger aus Insektenmehl
Quelle: 
Bugfoundation | © CreativeNature_nl/istockphoto.com
Würmer

Dass Insekten reich an Proteinen und Vitaminen sind, ist hinlänglich bekannt. Die Aufzucht ist verglichen mit konventioneller Nutztierhaltung deutlich umweltschonender, und auch geschmacklich haben sie eine Menge zu bieten.

Protein-, vitamin- und mineralstoffhaltig

Die Weltbevölkerung nimmt zu, die Ressourcen werden knapp. Ein wichtiger Beitrag zur Ernährungssicherung könnte es sein, Insekten zu züchten statt Rinder, Schweine und Geflügel. Insekten sind reich an Proteinen, Vitaminen, Mineralstoffen und ungesättigten Fettsäuren. Insekten verbrauchen außerdem deutlich weniger Ressourcen als ihre vierbeinigen Gegenstücke. Laut Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation der Vereinten Nationen (FAO) wird, um ein Pfund Rindfleisch zu erzeugen bis zu zwölfmal mehr Futter verbraucht als für die äquivalente Menge Insekten. Sowohl der Wasser- als auch der Flächenverbrauch wird also deutlich verringert und auch der CO2-Ausstoß um ein Hundertfaches reduziert.

Gesund, schmackhaft und nachhaltig

Diese Überlegungen nahmen die Gründer des Start-ups Bugfoundation zum Anlass, Nahrungsmittel aus Insekten zu entwickeln. Ihr Burger sollte nicht nur gesund und schmackhaft sein, sondern auch massentauglich. Gemeinsam mit dem Deutschen Institut für Ernährung, der Hochschule Osnabrück und anderen Partnern wurde an der optimalen Textur, an Geruch und Optik gearbeitet. Entstanden ist der Bux Burger – er besteht zu 43% aus Buffalo-Würmern (alphitobius diaperinus), sowie diversen vegetarischen Zutaten. Um den Konsumenten die Scheu vor dem Verzehr der überaus nachhaltigen und gesunden Insekten zu nehmen, wurde auch an Kommunikation und Marketingstrategie gefeilt.

Marktreife

In Belgien und den Niederlanden kann der Burger bereits in ausgewählten Restaurants verzehrt werden. Hierzulande ist man noch zurückhaltender – die eventuell bestehenden gesundheitlichen Risiken werden vom Bundesinstitut für Risikoforschung erst noch überprüft.

Back to top of page