Send link
13.02.2017
T-Shirt

T-Shirt

 
DATA & FACTS 

Sector:
Textile

Renewable resource:
Coffee
                    
Participating companies:
Singtex among others

Bio economy factor:
Utilisation of coffee remains

Status:
ready for the market

What is inside?
T-Shirt
Copyright: 
iStock: gemencacom/Fotolia: rdnzl
Kaffee

When brewing coffee, less than ten percent of the coffee bean’s aroma is released. The rest ends up in the compost bin. These coffee grounds, however, are an ideal raw material for the production of sustainable textiles.

T-shirts from coffee grounds

From espresso to functional clothing: the Taiwanese company Singtex is a pioneer in using coffee grounds for the production of sustainable textile fibres. The biggest challenge in the production of its “S.Café” clothing range was the neutralisation of the coffee aroma. First, the coffee grounds are crushed into microscopic pieces and then mixed with polyester fibres. Hugo Boss, Nike and Vaude use these fibres to make sportswear and leisurewear.

An ideal raw material for sustainable textiles

At best, the average consumer will dispose of the remains of a brewed coffee in the compost bin. However, coffee remains have incredible properties. Coffee grounds absorb unpleasant odours, dry quickly and provide UV protection, which makes it an ideal resource in the development of sustainable textiles for professional and recreational athletes.

Ready for the market

The T-shirts are already available on the market. Clothes manufacturers like Hugo Boss, Nike or Vaude use the fibres for their products. A British professional football club in the Premier League now plays wearing kits made from these fibres.

Weak points:

Relatively high price /not cost-effective

Back to top of page

Newsletter

Link versenden
T-Shirt

T-Shirt

 
DATEN & FAKTEN 


Branche:

Textil

Nachwachsender Rohstoff:
Kaffeesatz 

Beteiligte Unternehmen:
u.a. Singtex aus Taiwan 

Bioökonomie-Faktor:
Verwertung von Kaffeeresten aus Lebensmittelindustrie

Status:
im Markt 

Was steckt drin?
T-Shirt
Quelle: 
iStock: gemencacom/Fotolia: rdnzl
Kaffee

Vom Espresso zur Funktionskleidung: Die Überreste eines Kaffees lassen sich in der Textilindustrie verwerten. Das zeigt ein Unternehmen aus Taiwan mit seinen nachhaltigen Textilien aus Kaffeesatz.

Ein idealer Rohstoff für nachhaltige Textilien

Beim Normalverbraucher landen die Reste des gebrühten Kaffees bestenfalls in der Biotonne. Dabei haben sie erstaunliche Eigenschaften: Kaffeesatz nimmt schlechte Gerüche auf, trocknet schnell und schützt vor UV-Strahlen. Ein idealer Rohstoff also, um nachhaltige Textilien für Profi- und Freizeitsportler zu entwickeln.

T-Shirt aus Kaffeesatz

Die taiwanesische Firma Singtex ist ein Pionier bei der Nutzung von Kaffeeresten für die Produktion nachhaltiger Textilfasern. Die größte Herausforderung bei der Herstellung ihrer „S.Café“-Produktreihe war die Neutralisierung des Kaffeegeruchs. Zunächst wird der Kaffeesatz in mikroskopisch kleine Teile zermahlen und dann mit recycelten Polyesterfasern gemischt. 

Marktreife

Markenhersteller wie Hugo Boss, Nike und Vaude sind inzwischen Abnehmer dieser Fasern. Sie schneidern daraus unter anderem Sport- und Freizeitkleidung. Viele dieser T-Shirts sind inzwischen auf dem Markt erhältlich. Ein britischer Profifußballverein der ersten Liga spielt z.B. in Trikots, die aus der Faser hergestellt wurden.

Back to top of page